Emma Ruff winners address bullying

04 Apr 2012 12:46 PM | Anonymous

Theta Epsilon Omega announced the 2012 Emma Ruff Essay Contest winners at the James Hillhouse High School Black History Assembly on February 29, 2012.  This is the 14th year the chapter has partnered with the high school and sponsored the essay contest, which is named after New Haven's first African-American teacher and Connecticut's first female high school principal. 

Entrants were asked to submit an original essay that was expected to be insightful and creative, among other things, on the question:  "Are administrators, teachers, and parents solely responsible for addressing bullying, or should students be held responsible and accountable for its eradication?"

President Nicole Murphy presented the essay contest winners with a monetary gift and certificate of excellence.  The chapter also presented the high school's English Department with a certificate of appreciation for their ongoing support and encouragement of the youth who participate in the Emma Ruff Essay Contest each year. 

Several members of Theta Epsilon Omega were present, including Pia Grasty, Co-Chairman of the chapter's Scholarship Committee.  The Scholarship Committee recently announced the chapter's four-year scholarship available to high school seniors who reside in Greater New Haven.  Scholarship applications are due Friday, April 13, 2012.

Copyright Ā© 2021, Theta Epsilon Omega Chapter.  All rights reserved.  Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, IncorporatedĀ® is not responsible for the design and content of these web pages.  They are the sole property and responsibility of Theta Epsilon Omega Chapter who hosts and maintains this website.       
Privacy Policy  •  Site Map  •  Browser Compatibility   Contact Webmaster 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software
Share |